Listed alphabetically



*Discoverable through the EBSCO Discovery Service

A
Academic Search Complete*

9,000 full-text journals. Full text for more than 7,850 peer-reviewed journals. PDF content dating back as far as 1887. Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals

B
BIMCO Bulletin

The BIMCO Bulletin is a specialised magazine featuring articles of lasting value. Articles on developments affecting international shipping, including reports from IMO and other regulatory authorities keep readers abreast of new conventions and legislation.
Distance Learning students: Note that BIMCO accounts are provided to students physically attending courses at WMU only.

C
Clarkson’s Shipping Intelligence Network

Statistical data of shipping markets. Users can query time series data and download data sets. Several summary reports of sector analyses are issued weekly and monthly. USE OF THIS DATABASE IS FOR ACADEMIC PURPOSES ONLY. COMMERCIAL USE IS STRICTLY PROHIBITED.

Inquire at the library for access. 

D
Dawsonera* 

A very large collection of e-books, from which the library has purchased only a few dozen titles, mostly as textbooks for curriculum support. Still, users may search for and request ebooks discovered in Dawsonera.

DNV GL-LNGi

Comprehensive insights on worldwide LNG bunkering availability.

WMU Library does not have a subscription, but the database offers the following free features for registered users (you may create an account free of charge):
– LNG Fuel Finder – submit your own LNG bunker requests to LNG suppliers
– See locations of all LNG bunker requests submitted by other companies
– Download ready graphs, statistics and illustrations



E
E Ebook Academic Collection (Ebscohost)*

This growing subscription package contains over 120 thousand eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.

Environment Complete*

This database contains more than 2.4 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles going back to 1888 (including over 1,350 active core titles) as well as more than 190 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 920 journals.

ERIC

This database contains records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations and policy papers. Further, researchers can limit search results by education level such as Early Childhood Education as well as on the intended audience such as Counselors or Teachers. 

 

H

HEDBIB 

The International Bibliographical Database on Higher Education.

Login: INS0348

Password: wyxo5h9g

HeinOnline*

Over 1,600 law and law-related periodicals from inception; the world’s largest collection of constitutions and constitutional documents; One hundred thousand of the most important early English cases that laid the foundation for the laws of nations under the British Empire; The United Nations Law Collection, Foreign & International Law Resources Database, as well as Legal Classics. Particularly useful for researching of Maritime Law and the Law of the Sea.

I

I-Law

An excellent source of full-text information focusing primarily on maritime law. The publisher, Informa Law, offers a major portion of the Lloyd’s publications available online, including journals, reports and a few books. It does not, however, include the Lloyd’s List daily, which the library obtains under separate subscription (see the E-Journals list to access; found under Collections – Not in Discovery Service). Full-text available for the Maritime & Commercial “practice.” You will be prompted to enter your WMU Gmail address. Some of the ebooks are indexed in the Discovery Service. The WMU licence allows 5 simultaneous users at a time.

IMO documents

Search and download documents of the International Maritime Organization. Login required. Contact WMU library for an account (WMU faculty, staff and students only). Click here to sign up. Distance Learning students: Note that IMO accounts are provided to students physically attending courses at WMU only. You may sign up for a Public Account on webaccounts.imo.org instead.

ISL Maritime Intelligence

The ISL – Institute of Shipping Economics and Logistics – one of Europe’s leading institutes in the area of maritime logistics research, consulting and knowledge transfer.
WMU Library has access to:
ISL SHIPPING STATISTICS YEARBOOK (SSYB), 2007- &
ISL SHIPPING STATISTICS AND MARKET REVIEW (SSMR), 2008-.

ISO e-nav platform

This database provided by the Swedish Standards Institute is a gateway to a number of ISO standards WMU Library has acquired for its patrons. Only available on campus. 

K

KR-CON

Developed by Korean Register of Shipping, this is a comprehensive IMO Convention Database containing IMO Conventions, Codes, Resolutions and Circulars. The access to WMU is generously provided by the Korean Register of Shipping. WMU students and staff have to log in using their personal credentials that are issued on a yearly basis.

L

Library Discovery Service*

Ebsco provides more than 120 thousand ebooks as well as articles from over 10 thousand e-journals. Additionally, the discovery service searches and links to most of the library’s other databases and to individual ebook and e-journal titles purchased from ScienceDirect, Ingenta, Dawson, Ebrary and others. Also includes local holdings from the library’s catalog and digital repository. Store searches, create alerts, take notes and export bib data. An excellent place to start your topical research.

Lloyd’s list online

The oldest continuously published news source in the maritime world. This database offers the Lloyd’s list online version as well as PDF of the print version. Archive of full texts start in 2007. You can receive set up email and RSS alerts in your sector of interest. Anyone employed by WMU is eligible for account, most of the students as well (apart from the distance learning students).

Availablity of content in Discovery Service: None. You will need to log on your first time from on campus or the Henrik Smith Residence in order to set up your account. Click here. The site recognizes you as being on campus and therefore eligible for a “corporate” account. Click the sign-up link in the right hand corner. Fill out all the required data. Use your WMU email address. We recommend using it as your email address and as your username (which will help us if we need to troubleshoot your account). Assign a password of your own choosing. Once you have created an account, you may log in from anywhere with an internet connection. Your account will be terminated when you no longer a student or employee of WMU.

M

Maritime Commons

WMU's institutional repository of digital content. Includes PDFs of WMU student dissertations, papers and presentations of WMU faculty and researchers, and E-content purchased from third parties such as the Drewry Manning Report, IHS Casualty Statistics, and articles from ScienceDirect. Some content restricted to WMU members, but most is "open access."

O

OECD Energy iLibrary

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development e-library of books, papers, glossaries and statistics on transport. You can search all of the OECD iLibrary. All books in the Energy category are available in full-text.

OECD Transport iLibrary

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development e-library of books, papers, glossaries and statistics on transport. You can search all of the OECD iLibrary. All books in the Transport category are available in full-text.

OGEL

Only available on campus.

Oil, Gas & Energy Law (OGEL) is a peer-reviewed academic journal covering all aspects of law pertaining to oil, gas, and energy in general. Since the first issue was published in 2003 it has gained popularity with a large number of (international) energy companies, governmental organisations, law firms, international agencies, academic and think-tank institutions in the field of energy policy and various NGOs.

P

ProQuest Ebook Central (formerly: Ebrary)*

Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: Ebrary

A database of more than a hundred thousand of full-text e-books available to patrons on the WMU campus. The library has purchased nearly a hundred of these titles, that WMU members and walk on patrons can read online or download. Other titles can be requested from library staff.


R

RefWorks

Popular

Online bibliographic management program with an improved user experience, full-text management and collaboration features. The new RefWorks enables a more efficient and reliable process for producing research papers.
Off-site users: please instead follow this link

Rosetta Stone

The premier online language learning course. Students wanting to improve their conversational English can do so on their own time, at their own pace, on their own computers. Staff who want to learn Swedish, or faculty who want to learn a little Mandarin or Arabic in preparation for their duty travels, will have the same opportunity. Over 20 of the more than 30 Rosetta Stone languages are available in the WMU license. 

Students at campus Malmö are automatically provided an account and you need only reset your password when trying to log in and an e-mail with instructions will be sent to you.

Rosetta Stone supports apps for Android and Apple mobile devices. 
Distance Learning students: Note that Rosetta Stone accounts are provided to students physically attending courses at WMU only.

S

Science Direct, College Edition

Popular

Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: College Edition (Physical Sciences)

A full-text scholarly articles, primarily in the sciences from over 800 journals. For the articles not immediately accessible, the library manages a deposit account. WMU staff and students needing an article requiring payment will be directed to a request form.

Springer*

An excellent source of discovery of titles related to maritime affairs, including books published by WMU as well as the WMU Journal of Maritime affairs. Contains full-text journals and e-books, although only a few of them are subscribed to by WMU. For content not directly available, contact library staff .

Statista

Immediate access to over one million statistics and facts. Over 80,000 topics. Download statistics in PNG, PDF, Excel or PowerPoint.

T

Taylor & Francis*

The WMU Library has perpetual access to several dozens of Taylor & Francis eBooks. After following the link to T&F, click on "Login" in the top right corner, select "With Shibboleth or OpenAthens" and look for World Maritime University. To authenticate and access content, click on the "Continue" button.

TDM

Alternative Name: Transnational Dispute Management

TDM is a peer-review online journal publishing about various aspects of international arbitration with a special focus on investment arbitration. Since the first issue was published in 2004 it has gained popularity among a large number of law firms, academics and other professionals in the field of arbitration.

U

UNCTAD 

Includes:  Liner shipping connectivity index

                Merchant fleet by flag of registration and by type of ship

                World seaborne trade by types of cargo and country groups

United Nations Treaty Collection

The United Nations Treaty Collection contains information regarding the activities of the Treaty Section of the United Nations Office of Legal Affairs.

W

Westlaw  

New platform that powers Thomson Reuters products; Westlaw Classic, Westlaw International, Westlaw Watch, and Reuters with Newsroom. The upgraded Westlaw platform includes intuitive navigation, as well as new content, custom pages, tools and functionality.

Westlaw UK

Westlaw UK gives you access to vast but easily searchable databases of case law, legislation, news, legal journals, commentary, current awareness alerts and EU legal materials.

WMU Library Catalog*

This source is for WMU MSc students based in Malmö and WMU staff. Contains descriptions and availability information of printed books and journals, videos, CD-ROMS, and other items in the library’s physical inventory. Advanced searching allows queries by author, title, subject, publisher, date and format. The WMU library catalogue is available to anyone via the world-wide web, but library members may access additional features by logging in with user id and password, or through their Google Apps login.

World Higher Education Database (WHED) Portal 

The most comprehensive reference tool on higher education systems, degrees and institutions worldwide.

Login: INS0348

Password: wyxo5h9g