Skip to main content

Overview

Uses & Features

Overview of WMU Library Collections

The WMU Library houses approximately twenty-five thousand print titles pertinent to the study of maritime affairs. You can search the catalog of the library's physical inventory of printed books and journals, CD-ROMS, maps, papers, reports, etc.

Additionally, the library subscribes to several major databases and full-text journals offering online access to scores of thousands more titles, as well as statistical and report databases of import to the maritime sector. You can browse the A-Z list of Databases.

The Ebsco Discovery Service, or EDS, is the main research tool of the World Maritime University Library. It not only provides a search interface for accessing over 120 thousand ebooks and tens of thousands of full-text journals that are native to the Ebsco platform, but it also indexes and provides links to most of the electronic content that the library has purchased or leased from other information suppliers. Furthermore, it indexes the catalog of the library's physical inventory. In the case of Ebsco's "native" e-books and e-journals, patrons can read the content right within the EDS interface. In the case of third party suppliers of e-content, Ebsco provides a link to the content. In the case of the library catalog, real-time availability is supplied showing also the location.

Discovery Service does not include the following sources:

  • Maritime Commons is an institutional repository of WMU, its content includes: PDF's of WMU student dissertations; E-content purchased from third parties such as the Drewry Manning Report (PDF) or the IHS Casualty Statistics (Excel spreadsheet); articles purchased from ScienceDirect from the library's Science Direct deposit account (the library has obtained storage and sharing rights for institutional members); E-content collected on the open web that library staff thought should be discoverable in library searches (maritime-related reports from UNCTAD, FAO, ILO and other agencies). 

  • List of databases not searchable in the Discovery Service (overview the list)

  • List of e-journals not indexed in the Discovery Service (overview the list)

For finding specific e-journals and ebooks, you may use Publication Finder. To look for specific articles, use Citation Resolver.

All students and staff of WMU may request materials that the library does not have in its collection (print or electronic) via a WMU Library Request form. Before making such a request, please check whether the material is already in the collection by searching the discovery service. 

External researchers can request print materials via their home library through inter-library loan procedure.

In case of any questions or enquiries, feel free to contact us

Our Hours

M-Th: 08.30-17.00
F: 08.30-16.00

Social Links

Address

PO Box 500
SE-201 24
Malmö, Sweden.