EBSCO's Shared Folder feature lets you add articles to your custom folders and share them with other users such as fellow students, professional colleagues, or anyone interested in a specific topic.
Shared folders are available on EBSCOhost, EBSCO Discovery Service, Nursing Reference Center, Patient Education Reference Center, Rehabilitation Reference Center, and the NoveList Plus interfaces. You must be signed in to your personal account (My EBSCOhost, etc.) to access custom and shared folders.
There are three folder areas for use:
My Folder – this area holds the items that you have collected during your current session. This folder cannot be shared.
My Custom – custom folders you create, and then move result items into. You can share custom folders with other users, if desired.
Shared by – custom folders that another user creates and then shares with you.
You must be signed into My EBSCOhost to access custom or shared folders. In order to share a folder, it must be at the “top level” of the folders. If you have multiple levels of folders, the sub-folders cannot be shared.
Note: Shared folder subscribers are not able to modify the contents of a shared folder. However, subscribers may e-mail, save, export folder items as well as copy them to their own custom folder.
To share a custom folder:
Run a search, and save one or more articles or Persistent Links to Searches to a custom folder that you previously created. (For example, you created an Environmental Science Project folder and added two articles to it.)
From the Folder Screen, click the Share link below the folder name. The Sharing Options Screen displays.
E-mail To – enter the e-mail addresses of the people that you want to share the folder with. (Recipients must have access to EBSCO interfaces to share the folder.)
Subject – you can accept the default message or enter a new one.
Message – you can enter a personal message or leave this field blank.
E-mail Format – you can send your e-mail message in either plain text or HTML format.
Restrict Passcode to Single Use – included in the e-mail sent to the people you are sharing the folder with, will be a “passcode” that lets the recipient access your folder. By marking the “Restrict Passcode to Single Use” check box, each user will be sent a different passcode that can only be used once. For security reasons, it is a good idea to send each user a different passcode. (The alternative is that all users are sent the same passcode, which might be sent to users you may not want to share with, or who may not have access to EBSCO interfaces.)
Click Invite. An e-mail message is sent to each recipient that a shared folder is available.
Once those you have invited to share a custom folder accept your invitation, they are listed in the Accepted area of the Sharing Options Screen. You may decide that you no longer want to share a folder with one or more users you previously invited to share.
To “unshare” a personal folder:
Open the custom folder that you shared.
Mark the check boxes to the left of each user that should no longer have access to the folder.
Click the Delete button. The list of users you share with will be updated, and those users will no longer appear.
Note: Another way to “unshare” a folder you are created is simply to delete the folder. It will automatically be removed from the Subscription area of users you share it with.